Upcoming Launch of Unified Tourist Visa for Residents and Visitors of GCC Countries

Doha, Qatar: A unified tourist visa for the Gulf Cooperation Council's six member countries has received unanimous approval. This landmark decision enables residents of GCC nations and international tourists to seamlessly travel among Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Oman, the United Arab Emirates, and Bahrain using a single visa.

Jassim Mohammed Al Budaiwi, the Secretary General of the Gulf Cooperation Council, announced this development during the 40th meeting of the GCC Interior Ministers held in Muscat, Oman. The implementation of this integrated visa system is anticipated to take effect in the 2024-2025 period across the participating nations.

The Secretary General commended the new visa initiative, characterizing it as a significant accomplishment that underscores the close collaboration and effective leadership of the GCC nations. In addition to the unified tourist visa, the ministers unveiled an electronic system designed to link traffic violations across the six member countries.