Prize money for the winner and runners-up of FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 explained

It's the final week of the FIFA World Cup 2022 and the stage is now set for semi-finals with the teams being down from 32 to just four left with the chance to lift the World Cup trophy.

The first semi-final face-off between Croatia-Argentina will be played on Tuesday, December 13, 2022, with Morocco meeting France for the second semi-final on Wednesday, December 14, 2022.    

Apart from being crowned the world champions and taking home the trophy, the teams are set to earn a massive amount as their prize money. 

Here are the financial prizes that not just the winners will pocket, but also those 28 teams that fought and left the country: 

World Cup Winner: $42 million


Runners-up: $30 million
Third place: $27 million
Fourth place: $25 million

Teams that are placed 5 to 8 will receive $17 million each 
Teams with positions 9 to 16 will receive $13 million each 
Teams with positions from 17 to 32 will receive $9 million each

Before World Cup started, FIFA distributed $1.5 million to all the teams qualified for the FIFA World Cup finals to cover their initial expenditures for the tournament.

FIFA had announced earlier this year that the total prize money for the 2022 edition of the tournament would be $440 million, as compared to the $400 million pot in Russia where France won $38 million as champions in 2018.